Manchester City F.C.

Manchester City Football Club is an English professional football club which plays in the English Premier League. This club is the club’s derby with Manchester United, which is based in the City of Manchester stadium, Manchester.

The first game played in November 1880. At that time still called St. Mark’s (West Gorton). In 1887 changed its name to Ardwick AFC, and in 1894 became Manchester City FC

The City has won the League Cup 2 times, the FA Cup 4 times, 2 times League Cup and European Cup Winners Cup 1 time. This club’s most successful period occurred in the era of the late 1960s and early 1970s. At that time the City under manager Joe Mercer with his assistant Malcolm Allison and several players such as Colin Bell, Mike Summerbee and Francis Lee.

In 2007 the club bought by billionaire former Thai Prime Minister of Thailand, Thaksin Shinawatra, so the club has become one of the English club owned by foreign parties. Later in the year 2008 was bought by Abu Dhabi United Group.

Manchester City F.C. was formed in 1880 under the name St. Marks (West Gordon) by Anna Connell and two members of the church of St. Marks. In 1887 they moved to new headquarters in Hyde Road, Ardwick. Club name was changed to Ardwick A.F.C. to adjust to a new location. Ardwick began competing in Division 2 Football League in 1892. A year later, the 1893-1894 season, the club convolute financial problems and finally re-organized after they changed their name again to Manchester City Football Club.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s